Indigenous Circle On Education (ICE)

The Indigenous Circle on Education (ICE) is an advisory council to the College’s President and Board of Governors. Our commitment to helping Indigenous students achieve their fullest potential plays an essential role in developing an institutional strategy for meeting Indigenous student and community educational needs, as well as further creating an environment of social inclusion – one that seeks and promotes intercultural sharing. Indigenous refers to the Original Peoples – First Nation, Métis and Inuit peoples.

VISION

To provide strategic advice to Sault College to ensure that Indigenous learners are effectively recruited, engaged and supported in higher education and community training needs are addressed.

 

MISSION

The Indigenous Circle on Education is committed to addressing Indigenous Education at Sault College so we may ensure that the seven generations hereafter of Indigenous people will have culturally appropriate education available to them.

The Indigenous Circle on Education will strive to assist in making continuous progress towards achieving measurable outcomes in Indigenous Education at Sault College through the provision of strategic advice and feedback. We recognize that this is an ongoing and long term task that requires mutual strategic work.

 

ICE MemberOrganizationEmail
Yourchuk, Marnie (Chair)

Manager

Mamaweswen

North Shore Tribal Council

marnie@mamaweswen.ca
Kakapshe, Thomas (Co-Chair)

Executive Director

Neech Ke Wehn Homes

neech@nkw.ca
Sutherland, Garren

President, Indigenous Student Union

Sault College

garren.sutherland@saultcollege.ca
Peterson, Wendy

Education Counsellor

Michipicoten First Nation

wpeterson@michipicoten.com
Chalykoff, John Paul (Michipicoten Alternate)

Councillor

Michipicoten First Nation

jpchalykoff@gmail.com
Tangie, Pat(Michipicoten)

Chief

Michipicoten First Nation

ptangie@michipicoten.com
Sayers, Jean

Band Manager

Garden River First Nation

jean.sayers@gardenriver.org
Syrette, Paul (Garden River Alternate)

Chief

Garden River First Nation

Education Unit

psyrette@gardenriver.org
Scheepmaker, Fran

Employment & Training Coordinator

Métis Nation of Ontario

frans@metisnation.org
Moreau, Patti (Métis Nation Alternate)

Intake Officer

Métis Nation of Ontario

PattiM@metisnation.org
Hare, Joe

Elder

Kenjgewin Teg

Joehare39@gmail.com

Roy, Stephanie (Kenjgewin Teg Alternate)

Executive Director

Kenjgewin Teg

stephanieroy@kenjgewinteg.ca
Hurley, MelissaApatisiwin Employment & Training Indian Friendship Centreec@ssmifc.ca
Clement, Deb

Education Officer

Missanabie Cree First Nation

dclement@missanabiecree.com
Boissoneau, Doreen (Missanabie Cree Alternate)

Band Administrator

Missanabie Cree First Nation

dboissoneau@missanabiecree.com
Sewell, Peter

Batchewana First Nation

Councillor

psewell222529@live.com
Nolan, Barbara

Elder

Sault College

Barbara.Nolan@saultcollege.ca
Recollet, Ted

Elder

Sault College

Ted.Recollet@saultcollege.ca

 

Ex-Officio Members:

Dr. Ron Common, President, Sault College
Colin Kirkwood, Vice President, Academic and Research, Sault College
Carolyn Hepburn, Dean, Indigenous Studies and Academic Upgrading, Sault College

ICE Agenda May 2, 2019
ICE Minutes March 6, 2019
ICE Terms of Reference - Dec 2018
NETD Strategic Priority Summary 2013 - 2018